Early Birthday Shopping

tumblr_lficnwKTEL1qfu4j7

So…with Christmas over, stores everywhere are breaking out their “Sale” signs. Which means lots of cheap stuff.

Sure, you can probably find a lot of great stuff for yourself, but I find that this is the best time of year to start buying birthday gifts. Not only is it nice to get it out of the way early (And it’ll be great in case I forget closer to the day of, which tends to happen), there’s so much you could get for so little!

I even get a little bit of extra early Christmas shopping done during this time. Anything that I think will make a nice Christmas gift, plus wrapping and all that kind of stuff, I consider purchasing. Seriously…this is the perfect time to buy wrapping stuff for next year, since a lot of stuff is ~70-75% off at this time. A bag of 50 bows and spools of ribbon for $0.50 each, wrapping paper for $1.50 and cute little gift bags for $0.25 each…it’ll save you a lot of money for the coming Christmas.

I like to make a list of all the birthdays in the coming year and then another detailing what I’ve bought and for what occasion it’s for (Birthday, Christmas, etc.). I generally get notebooks during Christmas, so they’re great to use for this purpose. I also get a lot of gift bags, which go towards organizing all the gifts and such that I’ve bought (Until they can be re-used, that is).

I can never finish all of the Christmas shopping at this time (Since a lot of stuff is sold out and there might be things I want to gift people closer to the date), since it probably isn’t a great idea to buy food and skincare items a year in advance. Getting a nice chunk of it done slowly throughout the year pays off once the holiday shopping season comes around again, though.

Leave a Reply

