Rude Customer Service

rogerscustomerservice

The perfect picture for this post…taken from this article. At least I know I’m not the only one.

I know that I’m not the only one who’s gotten this before…rude customer service agents.

I was talking to some Rogers one yesterday and, though I’ve dealt with a lot of rude customer service agents from many different companies, this guy really takes the cake.

I mean, sure I’ve had people who’ve just had rude attitudes, but I expect them to at least be able to help me to some extent…this guy, though, didn’t even do that much. Why else would I call in if I didn’t need help? If these people can’t even do that much, what in the world are they getting paid for? And no, it wasn’t that this guy couldn’t help me exactly…he just refused to. Which seems ridiculous to me, since I’m pretty sure that’s his job.

I’m being pretty vague, I know…allow me to explain a little bit more.

Basically, I had to call in because of a problem I was having (Obviously…I don’t think anybody would ever want to call to simply exchange pleasantries). The guy on the phone was incredibly rude, but he also very literally refused to help. He essentially told me that he could and would not help me unless I figured out a way to solve my own problem, and he was pretty impatient about waiting for me to do that, too.

Excuse me…isn’t that your job?

I’m pretty sure that, if all of us could simply solve our problems on our own, we wouldn’t be calling in…and you’d be out of a job, that’s for sure.

Oh, and this was actually my second time calling…the first time, there was only a “hello”, a few words exchanged and then the call got cut off suddenly. I suspect it was the same guy, actually.

Anyways, continuing on…

I then hung up and decided to call in again, hoping to get a more cooperative agent…and somehow managed to get the same guy again (I don’t think there were many people in that department, for whatever reason). Well, then. I’m pretty sure that he knew it was me, since his attitude was very dismissive and he kept implying that I was lying, asking questions such as “Is this really your account?”, “Why do I hear voices in the background? Is someone telling you what to say?” (Uh, excuse me, but that latter question is a bit uncalled for…and that is a stupid thing to assume…I can complain about my own problems, thank you very much). Then, he simply didn’t offer any help this time. He just told me I had to refer to another department (I’m assuming, this he wasn’t very clear and seemed bored and very unwilling to help) and just hung up almost immediately after saying that bit.

He didn’t even give me the number to this other department or anything.

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that he isn’t paid by commission.

I’m also going to say, with that assumption in mind, that he probably should be. Maybe that’d help his attitude a little. Or at least make him useful in some way.

Oh, and not a word of apology for anything, not even the fact that I was having problems…well, that’s new. I would’ve thought that was in a handbook of some sort or something.

He didn’t give me his name or anything at all, actually. The conversation began with a bored, “Hello?”.

There was also a Fido associate there (I was trying to get a new cellphone), who was incredibly helpful (And also made a side remark about the idiot who was on the phone with me and how she didn’t understand why he was being like that). And I did get her name…good things happen to good people (Or people on commission who can not only actually do their job, but do it well, too).

By the way, Mr. I Apparently Don’t Need This Job (At least, that’s how he was acting), I’m complaining to Rogers. I may not have your name, but I’m pretty sure I have enough information and proof to pinpoint you…or, I suppose, for your manager to figure out who you are.

And, on second thought, you shouldn’t be paid by commission. You should just go work somewhere where you actually do your job.

One thought on “Rude Customer Service

Leave a Reply

